HASTYWORDS

Me: Are you popular?

Her: No, but I have some great friends so I don’t care.

Me: Do you have popular friends?

Her: Yes I do and they are nice.

Me: Do you want to be popular?

Her: I am popular to my friends and I don’t need any more attention than that.

Me: You’re a pretty great kid you know that?

Her: Yep, I know.

I am a firm believer that my daughter has a better chance of defending herself against bullies if she learns to love herself, is confident, and isn’t afraid to use her voice.  In fact, I have to work equally as hard to make sure she doesn’t become a bully because she is so confident. I think most parents are so focused on making sure their kids aren’t bullied they forget that we can all be bullies without guidance in that regard as well.

Everyone…

View original post 793 more words

