From Where I Stand

Liberated, Finally – Jan 26

I am generally allergic to your average motivational/inspirational speaker. Not because I hate motivation, but because, well, if you want to tell me something that works, do tell me how it works. Give me both the what and the how, for if I knew what you’re telling me, I wouldn’t have been in your audience in the first place. That’s the way it was done at home; it’s the way [good] schools did it. They teach you that knitting is potentially lucrative and teach you practical knitting. They teach you that leadership is good and empower you with good leadership skills. But when you just tell me, ‘balance your time between family and work’, without telling me which bit of work I should trim so I can spend more time with family, you ain’t being too helpful, friend. Same with when you just say, ‘avoid…

View original post 588 more words

